Intern’s Speak Out on Their Experiences

18 12 2008

 

I AM INTERN Presents The Intern’s Speak Series ! Learn from the internship experiences of others ! Read on !

The Intern: J. Tyler, Senior at the University of Arizona

Position: Intern at Jerry Bruckheimer (CSI) and at quarterlife.com in Santa Monica, CA for Summer 2008

PAST INTERNSHIPS:

 True Fabrications

WHAT IS THE MOST VALUABLE LESSON YOU’VE LEARNED WHILE INTERNING ?

Get contacts and keep in touch with them.

DO YOU HAVE ANY INTERN HORROR STORIES?

Just my lame living situation.  Oh, and one weekend I had to go back to Tucson, Arizona to move stuff from my old apartment into my new one for the upcoming school year.  Well, my car decided to not have air conditioning when going above 50 miles per hour.  So I had to drive 1000 miles in a single weekend with no air conditioning in 110 degree weather.

HAVE YOU EVER SPILLED COFFEE ? 

I’m from seattle, of course.  But I haven’t had to make a single coffee run while interning.

JAMMED PAPER IN THE COPY MACHINE ?

 Nope

BROKEN ANYTHING ?

 nope.

WHAT IS THE COOLEST THING YOU GOT TO DO AT YOUR INTERNSHIP ?

 I visited the CSI set and had a meeting with Carol Mendelson (show runner for CSI.)  I also visited Asylum, visual effects facility and got a meeting with Nathan McGuiness, CEO.

DOES YOUR COMPANY DO ANYTHING EXTRA FOR INTERNS ? 

 I get to listen/sit in on meetings, sets up personal meetings with each executive as well as sister companies that they work for.
 

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO DO WHEN YOU GRADUATE ?

 I WANT to produce films, but it’s a long ladder to climb.

IF YOU ARE INTERNING IN A CITY WHERE YOU DON’T LIVE…WHAT IS YOUR HOUSING SITUATION LIKE ?

 Horrifying.  I live with four girls.  3 of which are amazing.  The one that I happen to share a room with is terrible.  She’s extremely messy, is a bit of a nymphomaniac to the point that I don’t trust any of the couches in my living room, she randomly showed up with a dog one day without asking anyone else who lives in the apartment, and she has a friend who got thrown in jail for assault with a deadly weapon, the kitchen has a roach problem, my desk has an ant problem, my toilette needs to be plunged every three flushes (even if they’re urine), the hot water from my shower has practically NO water pressure, the roommates dog has peed on my bed twice resulting in a bed that vaguely smells like urine, and I have had to replace all the chargers to my electronics because the dog chewed the rest of them up.  There’s more but I can’t think of the rest of the crappy living situation.

HOW DID YOU GET YOUR INTERNSHIP ?

 Through my school for the Bruckheimer one.  Quarterlife I stumbled upon by working as GM at my college TV station.

 
Actions

Information

One response

25 10 2009
Dominick

Hi,

Do you maybe have tips (for outsiders) how to get in touch with JBfilms, also for internships

Cheers from the netherlands,
Dominick

Leave a Reply

