Q & A – Canadian Internships. Short – Term Internships.

1 12 2008

Hi Lauren,

I have been searching for a Public Relations Internship for about a year now. I am in the Public Relations program at Conestoga College in Kitchener, Ontario, Canada. To fulfill academic credit, I will need to complete 120 hours between February 17 and March 27, 2009. It is basically, three weeks full-time or six weeks part-time. I am having a lot of trouble finding an organization to hire an intern for this short time. I found your website just this morning and it is absolutely incredible. It has the types of internships that I am looking for, except they are all about a semester in length. Do you have any advice for me about how to look for such a short internship?

Thanks!

Rebecca

Hi Rebecca !! I think that by simply explaining your schools requirements to the internship coordinators at specific companies you could get what you want/need. Companies want help and if you can get any sort of credit they should be happy to work with you. The formal internship programs won’t go for this but the smaller companies definitly will. If it’s internships in the states you are after, let me know, and I’ll send your resume out with a note explaining your circumstances. Otherwise, best of luck and please spread the word to any of your Canadian friends who might want to come to the USA to intern !

Best,

Lauren Berger, The Intern Queen

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

