Where do you live during an internship out-of-state ?

22 11 2008

Q: Hey Intern Queen,

I found out about you through my school newspaper which happens to be your alum, GO KNIGHTS! I wanted to know with all your experience with finding internships where did you stay? Because I have been really interested in interns in LA or NY such as BET or NBC but most of the big time internships don’t offer pay or a place to stay and I would like to know how did you do it? It’s the only thing holding me back. I don’t know anyone that lives in these places such as family, friends.

Thanks,
E

A: This seems to be a very common question lately 🙂 If you want to intern in New York City check out the NYU Summer program which can include a meal plan. You can also look into summer housing opportunities with some of the other colleges in the NYC area like THE NEW SCHOOL, COLUMBIA, LOYOLA. When I went to Los Angeles for the summer I subleased a room in an apartment off of Craigslist.com which worked out very well. Another summer I stayed at Oakwoods Corporate Housing which can is expensive but provides an “internship discount” and an experience of a lifetime.

All the best,

Lauren Berger “The Intern Queen”

www.quarterlife.com/intern

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 11 2008
Eboni

Life savior! You are the best. Thanks you so much

24 03 2009
Stephanie

I just applied for a summer internship at The White House and I’m an out of state intern. Do you know of any cheap and safe places to stay in or near the DC area?

Leave a Reply

